If conversation starts to pall
And I have no words at all
Don’t criticise for hating sad goodbyes,
I’m saying farewell to my child

I’ve always encouraged independence of thought
That luxury is so dearly sought
I need to know you have space to grow
But I’m saying farewell to my child

I want you to flourish, I want you to fly,
Don’t want you to see heartache, to see me cry
Don’t want to hold you back, but it’s courage I lack
When I’m saying farewell to my child

I love that you engage with young and old
That your social ease makes you seem quite bold
But I sometimes love to be the hand to your glove
I don’t want to say farewell to my child

You’re making all kinds of exciting plans
Travelling to far-off distant lands
Though I wish you well, I think you can tell
I hate saying farewell to my child
© Caro Ness 2015

IMG_0790